Blank Image

    Free Case Evaluation Form





    Free Initial Consultation. 24/7 Phone Consultation

    We Are Here to Help You.

    Shea Law Group Has Been a Family Owned Practice Since 1997.

    Workers’ Comp Law in Wisconsin

    Workers’ Compensation—Wisconsin

    All employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance in Wisconsin, unless they qualify for self-insured status. Wisconsin employers benefit in this situation by receiving assurance that they will not be sued for medical care, damages, and lost wages if their employees become injured during the performance of their duties. This arrangement is also beneficial for employees, allowing them to receive payment for costs incurred due to a workplace injury without filing a lawsuit or proving fault.
    There are some exceptions when it comes to required coverage. Domestic servants, some farm employees, volunteers who receive less than $10 per week in any form of compensation, and certain certified religious sect members are exempt from mandatory coverage.

    Employees’ Rights

    In Wisconsin, you are entitled to coverage beginning the very first day you are on the job. It doesn’t matter if you are a probationary employee, or in training status, any injury you sustain while performing you duties at work is covered under the law.
    In order to expedite the claims process, it is important to report your injury or illness to your supervisor immediately. In turn, it is your employer’s duty to report your injury to their insurance carrier or benefit office.

    Benefits and Disability

    Usually, you will receive your first payment within the 14 day period following the last day worked. If you have not received your payment within this time frame, you should contact your employer or the insurance carrier to find out what the reason is for the delay.
    You will be paid beginning the fourth day you are unable to return to work. The three day waiting period, for the first three days after the injury occurs, is not initially compensable. However, if you injury extends beyond seven calendar days, you will receive payment for the first three.

    Workers’ Compensation Attorneys Wisconsin

    Many injured workers are able to complete the process of filing a workers’ compensation claim without assistance. However, when your injury is very serious or debilitating, the process may be more lengthy and contentious. If you are unsure of how to navigate the sometimes complicated system of workers’ compensation, or if your claim has been denied, it is important that you contact an attorney who specializes in workers’ compensation law.

    Employers and insurance companies have their own lawyers working diligently to save them money—you need to have an experienced attorney on your side. Protect your rights and your family’s financial future by reaching out to Shea Law Group to book your free, no-obligation consultation today with a Chicago workers compensation attorney.